Apricot BBQ Chicken

I’m not a cook.  I’ve never enjoyed cooking – ever.  I remember when my son turned 1, the pediatrician told me I have to start cooking family meals.  When I said I didn’t know how to cook, she said “You better learn.”  Sheesh!  My husband and I had decided before C was born that he would eat & drink Organic exclusively.  Little did I know how expensive and limiting that would be.  But, C is now almost 18 months old, and I have to say I’ve tried and succeeded at a few dishes, and I’ve pulled a lot of dishes out of my – well – you know.

I didn’t have a recipe for what I wanted to make last night, but the idea sounded good, so I winged it.  Here’s what I did:

2 large boneless/skinless chicken breasts

1 12oz bottle of Annie’s Homegrown Original BBQ Sauce

1 10 oz bottle of apricot preserves

1 pouch Lipton Onion Soup Mix (I know, it’s not organic)

A few sprinkles of garlic powder

Throw it all in a crockpot and cook on low until finished.  I gave mine about 4 hours.

I served it with Basmati Rice and Edamame.

I feared it would be too sweet, but it was actually the opposite, in a good way.  It had a bit of a kick to it, which was enjoyed by all.  Having never used Annie’s BBQ sauce, I can say that this was where the kick came from, as when I opened it I was a bit taken aback.  Either way, my crappy cooking turned out on Monday.

Now, to plan for the rest of the week.  As we have been impacted by the government shutdown, we’ve not bought any meat (organic is so expensive).  We’ll see what I can pull off with grains and veg for the next few days.

What Do You Think?

